The Mediterranean and Coastal Tourism – Current Scenarios and Shaping Future Tourism

BIENNALE HABITAT 2020-2022

PLEASE FIND AN INVITATION FOR OUR NEXT WEBINAR – 19TH NOVEMBER 2020.

WE HOPE TO HAVE YOU WITH US.

International Webinar: The Mediterranean and Coastal Tourism – Current Scenarios and Shaping Future Tourism

Presented by: Isidro Gonzalez of the Union for the Mediterranean – UfM, Eleni Hatziyanni of the European Commission – DG MARE, Vasileios Zissimopoulos of the COSTA NOSTRUM project, Patrizia Lupi of WISTA Italy (Women International Shipping and Trading Association), Armando Montanari of the SARA Embimov start-up of Sapienza University (Rome School of Tourism), Josep Valls Giménezof the Esade – ASCAME (Association of the Mediterranean Chambers of Commerce and Industry), and Mohamed Mastouri of Rèseau de Villes Durable,Tunisia.

Date/Time: Thursday, November 19, 11:30 am US EST/8:30 am US PST/4:30 pm UTC/5:30 pm CET

Description: The COVID-19 pandemic has triggered an unprecedented crisis in the tourism economy. Estimates of the impact suggest a 75-90% decrease in international tourism in 2020. This puts as many as 120 million jobs globally at risk. Domestic tourism was expected to recover more quickly than international tourism and offer some relief to the sector, particularly in Mediterranean countries and islands, but figures indicate that this has not occurred. Coastal communities have been hardest hit, with an estimated €7 billion decrease in GDP across Small Island Developing States due to the decrease in tourism. Governments and industry are focusing their efforts on applying new health protocols for safe travel; diversifying markets; stimulating demand with new safe and clean labels, information apps, and domestic tourism promotion campaigns; and preparing comprehensive tourism recovery plans. The measures put in place today will shape the tourism of tomorrow, and governments need to support the transition to low carbon and promote the structural transformation needed to build more ecologically and economically sustainable and resilient tourism economies. This webinar offers a panel discussion of high-level decisionmakers across the Mediterranean as they rethink tourism for the future – with an eye on the UN Sustainable Development Goals and the “New Normal” for coastal tourism.

Co-sponsors: HABITAT WORLD, ASCAME, and OCTO (EBM Tools Network, The Skimmer, OpenChannels, MPA News, MarineDebris.info)

Register: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_RcY7O6c7S52WZq_fUpvwYw[If you are unable to access Zoom, you can view a livestream here at the time of the webinar]

Laisser un commentaire

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :